IN FOCUS REIKI book // shipping included
IN FOCUS REIKI book // shipping included

IN FOCUS REIKI book // shipping included

Regular price $23.99 Sale

The Five Reiki Principles and Further Degrees

The five Reiki principles were adapted by Dr. Mikao Usui from the principles laid down by Emperor Meiji of Japan (1852–1912) as guidelines for a fulfilled life.

As Reiki practitioners, we follow the center path. This means we live in the real world and accept that we have to deal with everyday problems. We don’t hide ourselves in caves on mountains or in tree houses in the middle of the rain forest, or spend our time fasting and meditating all day. That is not to say that fasting and meditating are wrong—both are important in moderation for spiritual development—but they aren’t our daily way of life. Nor do we become obsessed with our healing gifts or feed our egos with self-importance, or strive for fame and fortune. Our rewards come irrespective of what we do.

These five principles are normally said first thing in the morning. When I say my Reiki principles, I place my hands in the Gasshô position with both hands together and the fingers touching. When the hands are in this position, the yin and yang energies are balanced. The higher the hands are the more respect is shown. Each principle is repeated three times.

The principles of Reiki are the foundation of who we are as Reiki practitioners. They are a way of life. If and when you fully incorporate them into your day to day, you may wish to go on to more advanced degrees of Reiki—Junshihan and Shihan—which we'll discuss at the end of this chapter.

The Five Reiki Principles

  • The First Principle - Just for today, I will let go of anger.
  • The Second Principle - Just for today, I will let go of worry.
  • The Third Principle - Today, I will count my many blessings.
  • The Fourth Principle - Today, I will do my work honestly.
  • The Fifth Principle - Today, I will be kind to every living creature.